Basic Skills / GED

What is GED?  GED is the process of earning the Arkansas High School Diploma. The GED test credential is the only high school equivalency credential recognized in all 50 states.

Steps to earn the GED / Arkansas High School Diploma:

1st step is providing proof of Arkansas residency.

2nd step is to take the TABE test.

3rd step is to attend Adult Education classes.  Hours needed are based on your TABE scores.

4th step is to take the GED Ready tests.

5th step is taking the Official GED tests.  After passing all four GED Ready tests, you are eligible to take the Offical GED test.  Students are responsible for purchasing the Official GED Test, which is $16.00 total.

The Official GED test has 4 subjects.

Reasoning through Language Arts - Ability to read closely, write clearly and edit and understand written text

Mathematical Reasoning - Quantitative & algebraic problem solving

Science - Life science, physical science, earth and space science

Social Studies - Civics and government, U. S. history, economics, geography and the world